United States District Court

Chief Judge David C. Nye welcomes you to the U.S. District Court for the District of Idaho.  In 1891 James H. Beatty was appointed by President Harrison to become the first Federal Judge for the District of Idaho.  We have a long and proud history rooted in our commitment to provide an impartial and accessible forum for the just, timely and economical resolution of legal proceedings within the jurisdiction of the Courts.

The District of Idaho has had 11 Article III Judges appointed by the President of the United States, with two of them currently presiding.  In addition to our two Article III Judges, we have two Magistrate Judges assisting with our busy workload.

Our judges hold court in BoiseCoeur d'Alene, and Pocatello.

District Court Calendar

The calendar updates as new information becomes available and is subject to change without notice. To schedule a hearing, contact the courtroom deputy.

2023 Civics Contest Winners Announced
May 30, 2023
The District of Idaho is pleased to announce the winners of its 2023 Civics Contest.  Please click for more information.
Applications Open for Lawyer Representative
May 30, 2023
The District of Idaho is accepting applications for a lawyer representative from the 6th or 7th districts through 9/22/2023.
Judge Amanda K. Brailsford to Join the Bench
May 08, 2023
Materials from 5/3/23 Social Security CLE 5,871 KB
May 08, 2023
Click for the PowerPoint presentation from the Lawyer Rep/FBA Social Security CLE offered on 5/3/23.
Refreshed Site for Violation Notice Fine Payment
Apr 25, 2023
The Judiciary's Central Violations Bureau (CVB) website has been refreshed and it's easier than ever to pay fines online.
"Robes in Schools" in San Diego
Apr 21, 2023
Judge Grasham recently participated in a "Robes in Schools" event in San Diego.  Click for more information.
Update to Local Civil Rule 5.1(l)
Apr 06, 2023
Click to review an update to the procedures for District Court filing after 5:00 p.m. Mountain in the event of a CM/ECF failure.